A relatively simple statistical question

This is where all of the games are discussed.

Moderators: alietr, trainman, econgator, dhkendall

skullturf
Married to a Jeopardy! Champion

A relatively simple statistical question

Post by skullturf »

Lots of data to help answer this question is already available in the archive, and maybe one or more of you has already done the number-crunching.

In what percentage of regular Jeopardy! matches does a defending champion win, and in what percentage is there a new champion?

People colloquially say that if you get on the show, you have a 2/3 chance of losing, which is close to being true in a broad overall way. However, I would guess that in more than 1/3 of games, the defending champion wins.
slam
Auditioning Since 1985

Re: A relatively simple statistical question

Post by slam »

I haven't looked at this recently, but when I studied it a few years ago, the defending champion won approximately 50% of the time. Presumably some of this advantage was due to familiarity with the signalling device and some of this advantage was due to probably being an above average contestant (as evidenced by at least one victory).
the_phil
60% or Bust

Post by the_phil »

slam wrote:Presumably some of this advantage was due to familiarity with the signalling device
Not as much as you'd think. There's a good chunk of practice before the tapings start in the morning, so as a contestant I don't think you're ever unfamiliar with it. You may start cold, because you haven't used it in a few hours, whereas the returning champ just got done 15 minutes prior. But with nerves and everything else happening, I'd say it's not much of a factor.
Rex Kramer
Jeopardy! TOCer

Post by Rex Kramer »

the_phil wrote:
slam wrote:Presumably some of this advantage was due to familiarity with the signalling device