RIP rmfromfla

This is where all of the games are discussed.

Moderators: alietr, trainman, econgator, dhkendall

Robert K S
Jeopardy! Champion

RIP rmfromfla

Post by Robert K S »

This is a very belated in memoriam but I am just learning this saddening and shocking news--Robert McIelwain passed away in his home Monday, March 18. JBoard indicates he was last active here Friday, March 15, 2019 8:09 pm. He hadn't been responding to my e-mails but I never thought to Google for an obit. He was only 56. For those who didn't know him, Robert was one of the most dedicated Jeopardy! fans, who took notes and kept recordings dating back to the very early days. He was highly active on the old Sony board back in the early 2000s, and would still pop in here from time to time to chime in with his encyclopedic recollections. He was one of the early archivists on J! Archive and was entering clues up until the end.

I would still be in denial about this if his obituary didn't expressly mention his Jeopardy! fandom.

This is just terrible.
StevenH
Not J! Contestant Material

Re: RIP rmfromfla

Post by StevenH »

I am so sorry to hear! I exchanged PMs with him a few times and he was always super nice and happy to help find information about past games.

May he RIP.
jlgarfield
Watches Jeopardy! Way Too Much

Post by jlgarfield »

Heratbreaking. :( I liked the information he shared with us on the pre-1997 shows.... he was such a nice guy. RIP X(
MarkBarrett

Post by MarkBarrett »

Robert was indeed very nice and generous in sharing intel he had about the early seasons. Many times I contacted him by email about figuring the date for an unmarked J! game I had and he always responded quickly. Beside the love of J! games themselves Robert also loved items associated with the show as he would let me know about books, calendars and such he added to his collection.

Robert did a lot for the Archive and the J! community with a lot of it done quietly behind the scenes.