How Did LeVar Burton Do as Host?

This is where all of the games are discussed.

Moderators: alietr, trainman, econgator, dhkendall

Rate LeVar Burton on a scale of 1 to 10, where 10 is best.

5%
7%
19%
16%
14%
19%
12%
5%
1%
3%

Total votes: 86

alietr
Site Admin

How Did LeVar Burton Do as Host?

Post by alietr »

How do you think LeVar Burton did as host?
squarekara
J! Reactionary

Re: How Did LeVar Burton Do as Host?

Post by squarekara »

My husband and I watched LeVar's Monday episode on mute in a Subaru dealership while our car was being serviced. With a third of the screen obscured by trade-in incentives flashing up on a banner, the full scope wasn't apparent until I caught the episode on YouTube later on. Man, was that rough. He carried so much goodwill into that opportunity, and, with his long experience as an actor and TV personality, his hosting made perfect sense. I was really rooting for LeVar to ride that rainbow, chase that butterfly as the embodiment of whatever beloved, hallowed persona from the 70's, 80's, 90's. . . However, this gig was on a par with Albert Brooks subbing for the weekend anchor in Broadcast News. The potential was there for LeVar, but things just went wrong. His professional experience seemed to count for nothing in terms of pacing, modulation, or, most importantly, being (or appearing to be) at ease so that the contestants could be at ease. Instead, the players had to deal with delayed calls and miscues that were painful to watch. A bona fide "Bless his heart" run. I'm sorry the production staff only rehearsed him the day before taping. More prep could have made a world of difference.
CailinGaoilge
Watches Jeopardy! Way Too Much
Location: Ontario, Canada; formerly resident in UK and Ireland

Post by CailinGaoilge »